Remembering The Hanzi / Day 25 ~ Lessons 51 + 52

by Julia

Lessons 51 and 52 have been quite fun to learn, but honestly I feel this way every time I start a new one – especially after I’ve been on hiatus for a while.

It’s like when you are learning a new language, all the vocab that you read magically sticks in your mind which is like a blank canvas at that initial stage. It’s when you start to pile things up that the game gets confusing.

I’m starting to dread the moment I’ll finally be over with the book. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy as f0ck at the idea of being finally done with such a long term project – but I also know there have been too many and too long breaks in between my study sessions, and I’m afraid the review phase will be more of a ‘starting from ground zero’ activity. Which will make the whole concept of having finished the book a little dry.

But it’s true that in the second half of the book I’ve been taking notes and adjusting keywords and plots to my needs, so it shouldn’t be that bad.

Plus I know that the awareness of having completed the project, at least in his first draft, will keep the spirit high.

Lesson 52 was a lot about animals stuff so I think I’ll need to complete a more thorough list of all the characters related to the animal kingdom. This includes not only words like tiger and hare but also animal-related things like paws, droppings, tusk and so on. I love lists, and even though they need to be acted upon in order to be truly useful, they always make me feel confident that I’m not losing bits and pieces along the way.

