{Books in a Nutshell} April ~ June 2017

by Julia

 

Spring is usually the season during which I want the most to read amazing books, as well as the season I usually accomplish the less in terms of pages read. I guess this happens because May is, like December, a kind of non-existent month in my year.  Too much going around at that time in my family, and when I finally manage to go back to a somewhat normal schedule I always need some time to adjust. Still.

 

 Marion Zimmer Bradley – Ravens of Avalon
|Italian Translation|

Books from the Avalon series feature in my book reviews every single time (I actually have two today!). This was another good novel that I really enjoyed reading. Boudica is an interesting and extremely fascinating character, and maybe is the feminist that is in me but I love reading books featuring strong female characters. The plot is well crafted as always and if you’re into historical novels you really can’t go wrong here.

Rated 4/5 stars on Goodreads

 

 Clive Barker – The Scarlet Gospels
|Original Version|

Ok. This book was not for me. Definitely not for me. Don’t get me wrong, Clive Barker is a superb writer who knows how to use words to get the effects he wants. It’s just that either I have no idea of what urban fantasy means, or it simply isn’t my kind of thing. I don’t feel much comfortable when I have to deal with fountains of blood, excrements, body mutilation and such. But if you do, go ahead: it’s a great novel.

Rated 2/5 stars on Goodreads

 

 David Kushner, Koren Shadmi – Rise of the Dungeon Master
|Original Version|

I found this comic among the many role playing game related stuff that the plus one fills our house with. I appreciated the idea of telling the story of the creation and raise of the most iconic book in the genre (Dungeons and Dragons) through the media of a graphic novel (would I ever read a book about the history of rpg? Hell no). On the other hand, this isn’t much more than a simple chronicle of the most salient events that brought to the creation of the book and the role playing genre. I think a little more personal elaboration and engagement from the authors would have been needed.

Rated 2/5 stars on Goodreads

 

 Ranmaru Kotone, Makoto Shinkai – Your Name (君の名は)
|English Translation|

Despite my best efforts, I haven’t managed to get many manga read in the last couple of years. This is something that I miss enormously, but that for some reason I don’t bring myself to do. I’m happy a friend of mine recommended this anime about a month ago, because I actually watched it, loved it and thus immediately bought the manga out of it. It’s a very peculiar story and I’m super happy to finally find something that doesn’t have the usual already-seen feeling. Waiting impatiently for volume No 2.

Rated 5/5 stars on Goodreads

 

 Vanni Santoni – La stanza profonda
|Original Version|

This is another recommendation from the rpg-addicted boyfriend. It was an interesting reading, for two reasons. I really appreciated the chance to know a little more about this world, and honestly felt kind of envious for the level of harmony and team spirit this experience creates among the members of the group. I also have to say that the author knows his way and is skilled enough to create powerful images in the reader’s imagination. Too bad he overkilled it a little. I wish he could have stayed a little humbler.

Rated 3/5 stars on Goodreads

 

Marion Zimmer Bradley – Lady of Avalon
|Italian Translation|

I’ll be honest, as much as I love the Avalon books (see above), this is the one I enjoyed the less. The first half of the novel is honestly a little blunt, and it reminded me too much of The sword of Avalon. I enjoyed the second part more, as it talks about Viviana and thus gives insight into the further developments of The mists of Avalon (which is my fav book of the entire series). Overall, I felt like this was the only book that didn’t have any specific characteristics to distinguish itself from the previous ones.

Rated 3/5 stars on Goodreads

 

Summertime is going to be quite full of plans and things to do (like always), but not the kind of stuff that should keep me off reading, at least for a good part of it. Lately I’ve got the chance to put my hands on some very good stuff, so a succulent TBR list is about to come out soon.

 

