{Wellness} A welcome pack to myself

by Julia

Last week I finally took possession of my new Scottish room. I’m very happy with this acquisition, not only because the room per se is gorgeous (I was really lucky), but also because after more than 4 years of living at my parents’ home in a room that wasn’t much suitable for a grown up life, I’m more than happy to finally have my own space.

At the same time, this lovely room costs my a fortune so I really need to save up and avoid mindless shopping if I want to afford the place. Furthermore, I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m going through a decluttering process of both activities and physical possessions, so I definitely don’t want to mess my new room up with useless junk. I think I already possess too much of it.

Nonetheless, I thought it could be nice to prepare a restricted amount of new items I could unpack and enjoy once I was settled in. In the previous month I’ve piled out some nice stuff to personalize my room with, while strictly staying on a budget.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Mary Poppin’s Bag

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Who doesn’t need some fairy dust

I collected everything in a Primark paper-bag and secured the opening with a Fairy dust bottle which was supposed to shoot me dead if I were to open the bag beforehand. Never mess with Fairy dust.

I first focused my attention on bedding and everything in between. I get all my work done at the desk, but the bed is where I unravel and relax during the evening watching Netflix and reading novels. I wanted it to be comfy and homely without it being too much.  I also got a new pyjama for the occasion as pyjamas are by far my favourite piece of clothing to go shopping for (and to wear), and Primark keeps tempting me with this awesome Harry Potter themed collection.

After the essentials, I thought it would have been nice to indulge in some self-pampering products. I had recently run out of body scrub so I looked for a replacement since body scrubs, in general, are one of my beauty-related guilty pleasures. I also got a couple of makeup products from No.7 and with them I was given a gift box with mascara, blush and red lipstick. Finally, candles and ambient lights are a must for a cozy space (but, again, I didn’t want to overdo it so I kept it minimal). I got all these products either from Primark at a very low and affordable price or from the drugstore (on promotion).

And this is the final result (〃⌒∇⌒) I think it’s important to take care of ourselves as much as we can,  since nobody else can really do that for us. It’s nice to pamper ourselves with a few luxurious purchases, especially if they help to create a relaxing and inspiring living space. And self-love really doesn’t cost much in the end.

 

