{Books in a Nutshell} January ~ March 2017

by Julia

 

So here I am with yet another Goodreads challenge for 2017. I decided to set my goal to 25 books like last year because I can’t predict how things will turn out with work and life in general in the next few months – plus 25 kinds of seems like a manageable number after all.

 

 Marion Zimmer Bradley – Ancestors of Avalon
|Italian Translation|

This was a good, absorbing novel. Actually I don’t know how much of it was written by Zimmer Bradley and how much by Diana Paxson, but I don’t think this is a matter of relevance here. The storyline was well constructed and the characters, as always, more than credible.

Rated 4/5 stars on Goodreads

 

 Cecilia Dart-Thorntorn – The Lady of the Sorrows [Bitterbynde series volume II]
|Italian Translation|

Cecilia Dart-Thorntorn was the big discover of 2016 for me and this second novel didn’t disappoint me. Her novels are the closest thing to the fangirl feeling I experience while watching particularly emotionally moving dramas – I just can’t read her pages with a cool detachment. The writing is superb, I’m in awe every time that I think about the monstrous amount of work she must have put to prepare such a thorough background and descriptions for her story. Amazing piece, amazing writer.

Rated 5/5 stars on Goodreads

 

 Brian K. Vaughan, Fiona Staples – Saga vol. I
|Original version|

I discovered this graphic novel on VivaTrump’s blog and it immediately caught my eye. In terms of comics I come from a manga-only reading background, but now I’m all into expanding my reading experience. Saga is a very promising series, a great option to make my way towards the field of Western comic books. Both the graphic and the storyline are stunning, the style is extremely original and there’s an overall huge attention to details. I’m already planning to buy the second volume.

Rated 4/5 stars on Goodreads

 

 Marion Zimmer Bradley – The Sword of Avalon
|Italian Translation|

The book that has enchanted me the less in the series so far. I don’t even understand why, since I was really into it during the reading process. I also really liked the male lead, which is one of the most complex and complete characters in the whole saga. May I’ve just been reading too many Avalon stories in a too brief time frame. Still a good book though.

Rated 3/5 stars on Goodreads

 

 Claudio Magris – Un altro mare
|Original version|

I haven’t been reading ‘literature’ books for a while now. This novel has a special meaning to me as I used to walk by the author’s office often at Università di Trieste, so it represents a sort of sentimental attachment. It’s a one-of-a-kind book written in an extremely personal and refined style, which I don’t know how well can perform on translation tbh. Probably it’s not that special for those who have never been to this distinct part of the world – but it says a lot to me and to everything I experienced while I was a uni student there.

Rated 4/5 stars on Goodreads

 

More English language books coming in next month and – who knows – perhaps even some new comic books / 漫画.

 

