Remembering the Hanzi – Day 14 [Frames 584 ~ 687]

by Julia

Dear professor Heisig,

first of all I would like to thank you for all the hard work you’ve done in order to publish Remembering The Kanji and Remembering Simplified + Tradional Hanzi. It must have been really time-consuming putting together all those stories and meanings and plots. Thanks for that. I really appreaciate it.

I know that around the internet there are a lot of people talking down on you. They claim your method is a way of ‘cheating’ instead of truly learning Chinese and Japanese characters. Is your method really cheating? Because I would love if someone could teach me how to cheat in language learning. Like having someone else memorizing words and grammar in my place and then steal his knowledge like zombies eating brains. I haven’t figured out how to do that yet, and neither have you I suppose.

Your idea of learning characters through meaning and images instead of rote memorization is really appealing for people like me whose memory works just like crap. Your book gives us structure, a path to follow, a progress to make step by step – but most of all, it gives us hope. Yes, even shitty memorizers can learn Chinese and Japanese characters! Banzai!

This said.

I have a question for you.

What kind of heavy drugs where you abusing of when you planned Lesson 22? What the heck were you thinking of when you decided to include 110 characters in one single lesson only because they all had to do with hands and fingers? Did it look like a good idea to you? Because in case you were wondering, NO, it’s not a good idea. Not the tiniest bit.

Now I have to go make a very plausible story on how water, drag and bandana form the meaning of faction, because yes, I forgot to mention, you decided not to include any more stories in the second part of the book. I presume it was just a slip, so I thought you would be glad if someone pointed it out to you. No, seriously, no need to thank me.

Hope it’s not too humid there in Nagoya. And sorry for the zombies eating brains image.

Your sincerely,
J.

 

