Things to do before 2016 ends

by Julia


With the end of the year approaching, it’s kind of authomatic to sum up what we have/have not accomplished during 2016. I’ve not been a huge fan of yearly goals lately, I think not all situationas are the same and in many circumstances, despite what others may think, we are seriously not able to always make decisions for our own. Plus I acknowledge that 12 months are really an exagerated period of time for us to manage all at once; we all know what we really wanna do in life, so instead of making a long term plan that will constantly need re-adjustments I prefer to play it by ear, a few months at the time.

So in this last glimpse of 2016 I have a few little things I’d like to take care of.

1. Finish decluttering my room

I don’t intend to imbark in new huge room restyling projects as at the beginning of 2017 I’ll permanently move to Scotland; at the same time I will soon have to face some decisions about what to carry with me from the very beginning and what will have to stay behind for a while. I don’ want to leave a mass of junk sitting aimlessly on my shelf and I don’t want to find myself in the position of having to sort out everything at the same time either. So what has to go will have to go now.

2. Sort out my 2017 goals seriously

As I was saying, I now tend to be a little cautious when it comes down to setting yearly goals. Plus 2017 is a huge questionmark for me under so many respects (work? accomodation?) that it’s virtually impossible to make a clear plan right now. This of course doesn’t mean I have to give up entirely on my aspirations. Be realistic, try to define attainable results in the short run without losing sight of the bigger picture and identify what is really important for my personal growth is what I want to seek out before the end of the year.

3. Concentrate on my professional training

If I want to succeed at work and stop having side jobs I really need to be well trained and preparared – which means that a) I need to put in more working hours every week b) I will have to use my spare time to study and research more on the topic. I realise this means very few free spots left for language learning but I feel this is the time for serious grown-up decisions + I know it’s for a greater good.

4. Redefine my style

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m currently on a journey to define [or maybe redefine] my personal style in various aspects of life. I’ve recently started to see fashion, make up and interior design as a powerful way of expressing myself better – but, at the same time, I’m very attracted by minimalistic art and general life style, so I’m trying to combine both. I’m still too materialistic [something I’m definitely not proud of] to embrace a real minimalistic approach but I’m on the process of getting there and I really want to carve out some time/space to experiment with it.


 

We’re roughly 40 days away from 2017 so there’s still time to catch up with a few projects and make some important adjustments. If thinking about the end of the year helps us feeling more determined to get stuff done that’s good, but no end-of-year stage fright please [I’m talking to myself, yes].

 

