Planner Talk / 2

by Julia

It’s been a while since the last time I talked properly about my planner system, but I’m in a transitional phase right now and there are still many things I haven’t figured out, which bugs me greatly.

As a matter of fact, I’m not the kind of person who likes to switch planner constantly. I know that many actually enjoy the feeling of refreshment they get from swapping planners every other month – I don’t. For me [ideally] the moment in which I get a new planner is January 1st. So now, I’m not feeling great about my current situation of change.

At the same time, I couldn’t ignore the fact that my previous system wasn’t sustaining my organisational needs any more. I used a monthly calendar + bullet journal for daily tasks in my Boston A5 slim from January to August and I was very happy with that, but after starting my internship in late July I felt that my life had become more weekly-oriented and the overview of the monthly calendar wasn’t enough anymore.

So I decided to use some leftover Filofax weekly pages, downsizing to the personal size again. This time I’ve integrated in my system some features I’ve never tried before and that I’m very happy with – but the one section I just can’t feel that it’s working properly is exactly the weekly calendar.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Here’s my Filofax Original Personal in Fluro Pink [plus a bunch of other books/stationery goodies]

My main doubt is on how to integrate in the same box both appointments, reminders and todos. In the previous system the monthly calendar held the first two and the bullet journal the last one, but now? Also, personal pages are not particularly spacious, which is fine for normal days but not so much for the busy ones.

I’m a planner maniac and I hate when I feel I don’t have things in control.

I especially hate when things don’t fit a in clear category [appointments -> monthly calendar; tasks -> bullet journal].

I’m so dragged down by this issue that I haven’t decided 100% on what planner I’ll be using next year. And it’s OCTOBER. I usually have everything planned out by the end of August, pens included.

I’m also not so motivated to sort this problem out considering we’re just two months away from 2017 and I know I won’t be using this system next year. So why bothering that much when it’s just for a couple of months?

Still I can’t wrap my head around it, and it makes me resentful (=`〜´=)

#firstworldproblems

 

