Chinese Talk / 14

by Julia

I’m realising that I need to strengthen my skills in both vocabulary and grammar. I would like to be able to read more, and in order to do that I must feel comfortable enough with the language – which basically means not needing to check the grammar book/vocabulary every other word that I find.

When you’re in class you’re supposed to cover everything [grammar, characters, reading, speaking etc… which actually seldom happens, but still], so when you’re self studying you have to do the job yourself and evaluate when it’s time to point the focus on something else.

I still want to practice my listening skills, but there as well I can clearly see that more vocabulary would be a huge help.

I’ve been reading stories on and off from this website, and even at the beginners level I find myself having trouble in understanding all grammar patterns. So I think I’ll be focusing on this in the upcoming weeks.

I finally collected all three Zebra Mildliners Highilighters sets ❤ They’re gonna be the star of my note taking process

The truth is, you can’t do everything at once. I’m stuck at the point in which I feel that everything I do I’m not learning that much so I always strive for more practice in all areas of language learning. But this is not possible, especially when you’re not a student anymore and at the end of the day you really don’t have all that time left. So I’ll try to study by modules and concentrate on one thing at the time. I’ll probably have something like a monthly theme [August = grammar, September = reading, October = listening and so forth], but I know that when it comes to study plans I change my mind quite often so Iìm not making any definitive statement (ᗒᗜᗕ)՛

 

So wrapping things up, August 2016 is grammar month. And with the aid of my new stationery/organization tools, I’m ready to go and determined to succeed. 加油!

 

