{Books} June Sci-fi Second Hand Book Mini Haul

by Julia

A little late in publishing now the books I bought back in June, uh? ┐( ̄ヘ ̄)┌

I’m clearly in a deep sci fi phase right now. I honestly can’t explain [even to myself] why it took me so long to get to this genre in terms of books, considering that I’ve been a fan of sci fi movies since I can remember. I’ve read something in the past of course [like Gorilla Sapiens (aka Genus Homo) and my all time favourite Simak’s City], but nothing compared to the experience I gained in the fantasy field, for example.

Which is even more weird considering that my dad is fond of sci fi novels as well and in the last decade he’s been trying to collect all Urania‘s issues ever published.

Due to the fine weather, from March/April onwards we have a lot of bookstalls in the stress [especially in near-the-sea resorts] and it’s actually very common to find all-time literature classics as well as old publications from the 50s/60s/70s. And within this latter category sci fi novels fit perfectly.

I happened to find a couple of these stalls and well who could resist? Like honestly, they look SO vintage and the price was so low that I would had bought them even without liking the genre o(≧∇≦o) I didn’t know any of these authors before so I picked them up just by how much I felt inspired by the title and the cover [I AM SO SO SOPHISTICATED I KNOW], but this is a good occasion to browse a little bit and find out some info about the authors as well. Here are my choices:

  1. Roland Charles Wagner ~ La Balle du néant (1966)
  2. Sarah Anne Zettel ~ Fool’s War (1997)
  3. James Gunn ~ The Listeners (1972)

I don’t know why but I feel utterly excited about these readings. I think maybe is because of the images they evoke in my mind – lazy summer days with a soft armchair in the garden, a fresh fruit juice and the pile of my books on one side (ノ≧∀≦)ノ

I should probably stop thinking by instagram-like images.

 

