Chinese Talk / 13

by Julia

I miss studying Chinese. In the last 10 days or so I’ve been completely absorbed by all the packing and unpacking craziness, and in the few moments of break I was too tired to even think about the possibility of picking up a book.

I’m studying on and off again without enough continuity. This bothers me massively.

But I think I’m finally coming to terms with the fact that yes, I’m a grown up, the time I get for language learning is not the same I used to have when I was a student.

Maybe what bugs me the most is the fact that when I did have the time, I didn’t invest enough energy in studying Japanese [at that time]. Haunted by the ghost of my gloomy past, ahahahah so tragic.

But seriously, I’m surprised by how much I miss language learning after a short time without doing it. Six years ago I wasn’t the least aware of how deep was the rabbit hole I was going down.

I honestly don’t know how much time I’ll be able to find for myself in the next couple of weeks, but even now I know I can fit in some small bites of Chinese ~ so I’ll try. I’ll be focusing on

  1. Remembering Simplified Hanzi, my never ending story
  2. Chinese class 101 [repeat out loud, repeat out loud]

No grammar for now because I really don’t have enough time/focus for that. And in any case these two areas are those in which I feel particularly dumb and that require a awful lot of study time, so it’s like killing two birds with a stone.

And Aberdeen’s rainy weather is absolutely *perfect* to stay at home with a book in my hands!

