Life Lately / July

by Julia

 

I had a completely different post in mind for today. I wanted to complain about not having enough time for this and that, being unable for different reasons to do all the things I want to do, having to compromise and so forth. I also started writing a few lines following this mood.

Then I deleted it.

This is not how I want to feel now, so it’s no longer what I want to talk about.

Sometimes I get caught in the frenzy of ordinary life and I just lose sight of my purpose. Which is totally, absolutely fine. We all have hectic lives. We all have a lot of responsibilities, appointments, tasks to complete, and general stuff to do. It’s easy to get uninspired and bored, it’s nobody’s fault.

This morning while I was on the train I had an epiphany. I just felt I wanted to be more purposeful. To stop acting like someone had imposed this life upon me. My current condition is nothing but the result of my own decisions. So it’s now time to be present, to be aware and to be in charge.

My purposeful purposes for the summer are

  1. be in the moment. It’s ok if not all aspects of my life are at their top right now; I don’t need to change everything all at once, but I want to be present and to spend my days knowing what I’m doing and why.
  2. wake up early in the morning. I’ve said a thousand times that I’m a morning person, therefore if I don’t take advantage of the early hours of the day I’m basically wasting a lot of precious productive time. I’ve been willing to try waking up early [like 6 am or so] for a long time so this is the right moment to start doing it.
  3. re-start practicing yoga or taichi regularly. When I begin my morning with some physical activity I feel a lot better the whole day, so this is definitely something I want to find some regular time for. Always remember, mens sana in corpore sano.

Let’s be honest, it’s not like that from today onwards my life will change. At least not substantially. I’ll put my best efforts for a while and then slowly I’ll be back to the uninspiring, boring routine of everyday life. But that’s ok. Really, it’s ok. Pinterest boards are there for a reason, right??

lol

