{On the Screen} Alice no Toge

by Julia


First of all I would like to say that I wish there were more dramas like this one. It’s exactly the kind of story I like, with dark, twisted and merciless female main lead looking for revenge ヘ(゚∇゚ヘ). It’s not the kind of drama that gives you all those feelings and get you totally hooked but it’s gripping enough to keep you interested until the very end.

My thoughts on the drama: [SPOILERS]

1. first and foremost I want to say that I hugely appreciated the small number of episodes of this drama. Even though in terms of books I may like huge 1000+ pages tomes [especially if we’re talking about fantasy], when it comes to tv shows and movie, for me the shorter the better. And this is particularly true here, where you have a somewhat ‘exaggerated’ plot where almost incredible/not so likely things happen all the time. You can keep up the tension well with a condensed story; 10+ episodes and everything would have just ended in a big big mess [Revenge I’m talking to you, uh?]

2.  great female lead. Asumi is a wonderfully strong woman with feelings and weaknesses well buried inside herself. I liked the way she is portrayed because I found her character to be very human, yet not too pathetic.

3. well-chosen OST. Music in dramas tends to be a little childish/plain standard [at least in a certain kind of drama], this one was definitely original and perfectly matched with the spirit of the story.

4. the thing that I found a little naive is the portrait of the ‘bad guys’. Can you really have a hospital in which the main doctors are all ruthless, fierce status seekers [and all with very cruel faces]? Honestly, they could have done a better job here.

5. great, and I want to really stress the word great here, final plot twist. The authors were very artful in not leaving any possible clue about who really was behind everything. Other things were pretty easy to understand [like the fact that the first kidney was Nishikado Yui’s], but that… I really didn’t see it coming.


Needless to say I’m totally in love with Ueno Yuri now  XD I’ll look for more dramas with her [providing they’re not 30+ episodes romantic dramas of course].

