Japanese Talk / 3

by Julia

I like the way things are evolving smoothly with my Japanese study. I started back without even putting too much thought into it, just following what I felt was good for me. It’s more than two months now since I re-started studying it and I’ve been able to keep up with my Anki deck without falling behind.

To be clear, it’s not like I’m making a huge progress here – and it’s not even easy to assess whether/how I’m actually progressing as for the most part I’m in the recalling-what-I-learned-and-forgot phase.

I’m just happy to notice that, after studying Japanese for more than 2 years feeling like I was always on a rush, that I wasn’t learning enough or memorizing enough or progressing enough, I’m actually able to study this language in a newly discovered relaxed and stress-free way.

I’m just enjoying it, and that’s simply how it’s supposed to be.

As I’m more and more consolidating my vocab, I’m beginning to feel the need to do something more. I would love to integrate some grammar study but no, I’m not going down that road again – at least for now. Just regained my love for the language, definitely not a good idea to nip it in the bud ( ̄ω ̄;)

Plus I always have to remember that I don’t have to cuddle up in my confort zone, rather the contrary, I have to constantly bring myself to do those things I feel uncomfortable with. Yes listening skills, I’m talking to you.

I believe I’ll have to resort to JapanesePod once again. <( ̄︶ ̄)>

I’m also a lot into 日本料理 these days, last week I made okonomiyaki and I was stunned by how incredibly Japanese it tasted [which to be clear is a good thing, since I tend to make everything very Italian style]. Yesterday a made yakiudon and tonight my mom asked for omoraisu. Off I go buy the 卵!

