Remembering The Hanzi / Day 2 [Frames 33~71]

by Julia

As I was saying over on Twitter last Saturday, some of the stories in Remembering the Hanzi are quite inconclusive (to say the least), and sometimes I find myself wasting more time trying the remember the underlying story rather than the meaning of the character itself  ┐( ̄ヮ ̄)┌  oh well, I think it’s just part of the process.

I’m not able to evaluate my retention ratio right now, but I believe that keeping reviewing the meanings with anki should do the work. This week I’ve also found a way for studying decks using tags [it was about time -.-] which has improved the quality of my study of a whole lot. This way I can easily customize my study sessions focusing on the things I know I need to revise the most [which I believe is one of the main features of Anki itself, but you know, I’m a little slow here].

I don’t know why, but I feel optimistic about this learning the-hanzi-challenge [if I can really call it a challenge]. Having something to do in the long run gives me a feeling of continuity in my work, something I particularly need now that I’m continuosly shifting my methods and resources. At least now I know that for a while I won’t have to worry to much about how to do things, I can just concentrate on actually doing them. Which, sometimes, is a very refreshing feeling.

