Upcoming New Year’s Resolutions

by Julia

I know we’re still 20 days or so to go before 2016, but I want to take the pledge now – because you know, January 1st doesn’t really mean anything. I’m the first who loves to start new things at the right time in the right place, but as the years go by I’ve started realizing that there is actually no real good time and no real good place, and that waiting for them it’s usually just a way of wasting time and an excuse to procrastinate.

2015 has been a very intense year for me – like crazily intense. I believe I’ve said that a billions times before, but seriously, I still have to realize how I could manage all that clutter of things to do and people to see and work to carry on and books to study. But I’m here now, and finally things have changed.

I still feel like my life is full of stuff [which by no means is a bad thing], I just need to carve out a little more space for certain ‘me’ things.

Last Tuesday I spoke in Japanese.

Where speaking in Japanese means saying to two lovely Japanese ladies that their dog was really super cute and then answering their question at random [I’m not 100% sure of what they were asking me, but at least I was able to say something gramatically correct]. This lit something into my brain as well as into my soul. I’ve been toying with the idea of starting studying Japanese again for the last two months or so – now I feel like it’s something I absolutely have to do. For myself, and for all the effort that I put in for more than 3 years.

And I also need to find a little more time to go back to my anthropology-shamans-Japanese religions kind of stuff. I miss of all that, a lot. It has been my life for a good while so I don’t really wanna turn away from (again) all the work I did in the past. Because no matter what I do now and where I have to work to get a living, this is who I am and who I always will be. Period.

Basically I need to ensure that from January 2016 [but ideally even before] I’ll have to change to devote a certain amount of time to all these activities every week. It’s no longer the time for whining and complaining. It’s not even the time for dreaming. It’s the time for planning and actually doing things. I have a Filofax – let’s just make good use of it.

