{Books} Summer readings [2015]

by Julia

Early this year I was gifted the Dragonlance saga (the one-book version), definitely not an example of speed-reading (especially because I find it hard to bring the book in my commute, due to its dimentions/weight). I’m totally loving it and I keep wondering why I didn’t find out about it earlier, but at the same time I’ve decided not to read it in one solution but to use the natural division of the story in three chunks to alternate it with other kind of readings. So now that I’ve just finished Book 2 – Dragons of the Winter Night [I’d have A LOT to say about that, fan girl mode totally on right now] I think I’ll just have a short break for other summer-related readings.

This is my list:

  1. Stardust by Neil Gaiman
  2. Merlin – The lost years by T. A. Barron
  3. The Girl who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente
  4. The restaurant of love regained by Ito Ogawa

 1// I spotted it on this post about a month ago and for some strange reason it caught my eye immediately; I found it on sale on Book Depository a few days later and this is it. No idea of what to expect from it, but I’m really curious.

2// I discovered this book while browsing around at Wikipedia [can’t remember what I was looking for], I liked the fact that the author is an activist of conservation causes and even though I’m not exactly in the age range of the target audience I feel confident I’ll enjoy the reading.

3// Again found in another Viva Tramp’s post, I have to be honest, I bought it mostly because of the temping cover art. I don’t think it’s gonna be a life-changing book – just something that seems good to be read during these drowsy summer afternoons.

4// This is one of the cases in which I tell myself ‘Thanks God books don’t have an expiring date’. I bought this ages ago [in fact I don’t even recall where or when], I only know that for two summers in a row I’ve said to myself ‘Ok now I really have to read this’ [and then didn’t]. Recently I’ve been a little meh towards contemporary Japanese books, so I’m curious to see to which side of the fence it belongs.

I’ve been a bookworm all my life I guess, so for me it’s really sad to have very few occasions to read now in my ‘grown up’ life; anyway, I’m trying to do my best both to keep up with my readings and not to be swallowed by my hectic and restless life. Life always gets in the way.

