Chinese July’s challenge [2015]

by Julia

This month I’m willing to put in more effort into my language activities, so I thought the engaging into a challenge may be the right thing to do. I don’t know whether I’ll be able to do this every month, but considering that my current schedule allows me to dedicate a little more time to my hobbies, I want to seize the chance as long as I can.

I was considering whether to join the Haking Chinese July’s speaking challenge, but honestly I think it would just be too much for me. Because I know myself I don’t wanna overdo it and risk to jump into too ambitious projects, so for this first time I’m gonna keep it veeeery simple. Just to see if I’m ready but also to keep me accountable.

So my challenge for July is to do a little Anki everyday, whether reviewing or adding new cards. I know that a lot of people in the learning community is pretty much against the idea of using flashcards for learning vocab; I’m not going to discuss this here, let’s just say that for my current level of language knowledge and for the particular structure of my memorization process, a spaced repetition system is the only working solution at the moment. So, anki it is! Let’s see how it goes in 30 days time ٩(•̤̀ᵕ•̤́๑)ᵒᵏᵎᵎᵎᵎ

